Scotland -v- Wales – Vote for your MOTM

WALESSCOTLANDNo contest for tedium anyway. Vote for your MOTM if you can be bothered.

This entry was posted in Six Nations 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

479 Responses to Scotland -v- Wales – Vote for your MOTM

  1. dermott says:

    One thing I’ve noticed is that the SH refs’ “Crouch, touch, etc” is more drawn out than the NH refs’ calls. Can’t help the players’ timing.

  2. avsfan says:

    Strange the Roosters aren’t on that list, given their connections with guys like Ibrahim. Still, as you say, there is more to come.

  3. Chekhovian says:

    @Ticht

    We are brothers in pain this night.

    As I said earlier, the personnel in our forward pack hasn’t changed, so the new shitness must be a tactics thing. Our players are being told to back off from the breakdown, which leads to the opposing team making easy ground, which leads to us conceding penalties in the red zone to halt a try. Add that to the usual array of brainless penalties elsewhere on the pitch, and we’re giving away cheap points.

    This needs to change, and SJ needs to go if he doesn’t recognise this.Weir played well, and kicked decently enough, but he kicked too often, and was obviously told to do so. When did Scott see the ball? Visser? Maitland? These players can hurt teams, for fuck’s sake. Big changes needed for the France match. Dunbar in, MacArthur to the bench, and a whole sea-change in our tactical approach.

    I don’t think this will happen.

  4. meadesian says:

    Indeed Dermott. A unique interpretation, as you’d expect from Waits.

    Caucau is 119kg now is he? Are they going to play him at prop?

  5. avsfan says:

    I’ll look again on the iplayer before launching an official compliant here on the Hask diaries.

    This will, I assume, form the subject of your debut ATL.

    Speaking of which, I’ll upload mine on the Blues tomorrow. I am waiting for the dust to settle from tonight’s clash with the Bulls before applying the finishing touches.

  6. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    Scotland Wales match was at least better than the last time (at Murrayfield). Still have nightmares about a combined backline from that game consisting of all the Scots with service from Phillips.

    To be fair to MP (is this necessary or desirable?) he’s having a very good tournament within the limitations of the way Wales are playing. Certainly been one of Wales’ better players and second place looks almost certain ( the possibility of an absolute thrashing from the English and a rare (!!) Scottish win in Paris notwithstanding).

    Clutz – Re not liking Gats I’m not sure his personality isn’t best left to be judged by New Zealanders. I don’t know if the ones I know are typical, but by and large their sense of humour makes the assumption that everyone else is as thick-skinned as they are. Not always clear when they’re joking, but when you’re not sure it normally turns out that they are. In short I suspect he’s not as bad as a lot of people seem to think. I also have to say I like the success he’s brought to Wales even if things aren’t perhaps as much fun as they used to be. Then again I quite like Henry as well so may well be in the minority…

  7. meadesian says:

    I think you’re calling it right Chek. You have the personnel to hurt teams, but not playing a game like that. The likes of John Jeffrey and Finlay Calder must be boggling at the way the breakdown is being approached.

  8. avsfan says:

    One the bright side Scottish brethren, at least SJ probably hasn’t managed to coach himself into a full time job, although who knows what will happen in Paris.

  9. tichtheid says:

    I agree Chek

    We have to Hold On

  10. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    Chek – think that’s a fair assessment. I don’t really see how Scotland’s performance today was really much different from their last match other than the result.

  11. meadesian says:

    We have some Waits love going on here tonight.

    What a fine place this is.

  12. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    Might have to accept an Invitation to the Blues.

  13. Chekhovian says:

    @Meades

    Boggled is about right. Why take a big strength in our national game (rucking), and negate it? I understand that desire to have defenders spaced across the field, and our defence has actually been pretty good. BUT, it means we’re not getting the ball, and conceding ground easily.

    The more I think about this, the more depressed I am.

  14. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    I guess the Scots are Way Down in the Hole…

  15. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    if you Know What I Idi Amin

  16. Chekhovian says:

    @Avs

    Don’t underestimate the stupidity of the SRU. Johnson may still get the job.

  17. avsfan says:

    I don’t know if the ones I know are typical, but by and large their sense of humour makes the assumption that everyone else is as thick-skinned as they are.

    True. I don’t mind people giving me shit (in the humourous, World Class Banter style), but they need to expect to take it as well. I think Aussies are the same. It is why we can go at each other’s throats, but still have a beer and no hard feelings afterward.

    Often with a Kiwi, the dryer and more dead pan and serious looking they appear, the funnier, to them, they are being.

  18. killerline says:

    @Chek

    the key thing is to .

  19. killerline says:

    @Killer that’ll teach you to try and be clever.

  20. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    And they do do serious-looking well.

  21. tichtheid says:

    Meades, “Closing Time” is one of the most beautiful albums I’ve ever heard and I’ve been a huge fan since I first heard it at age 16, I’ve gone wherever he chose to lead since then.

    I’d be happy with a Waits night, everyone posting songs of his that mean a lot to them

  22. meadesian says:

    Chek, problem identified, now you just need a coach to solve it.

  23. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    The first Waits song I came across was “Better Off Without a Wife” from Nighthawks. Still sing this to my baby daughter when I’m not bothered about how popular I am in the house.

  24. tichtheid says:

    Fuck the rugby, lets do Tom Waits

  25. Chekhovian says:

    @Meades

    Who, though? Who would want the job? Coaching perennial under-achievers achievers and fuck ups is hardly an enticing offering.

  26. I think Aussies are the same. It is why we can go at each other’s throats, but still have a beer and no hard feelings afterward.

    See, Killer, I am not troll, it’s just my cultural background, I can’t help it.

  27. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    “Eggs and Sausage” surely has a role to play in one of the perennial arguments on here. I’m sure opinions would differ as to whether or not it should be accompanied with chilli in a bowl.

  28. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    FD – I thought that much was obvious.

  29. @ Avs

    On the league thing, I can’t believe the effort the Sydney media are going to to muddy the waters, they know what side their bread is buttered on….can’t think of another cliche to add. I imagine if they weren’t making so much money of league and AFL there would have been a lot more revelations by now.

  30. killerline says:

    @Chek
    The tough thing about the coaching issue is:

    1) as a fan you’ve no insight into what Scott Johnson’s been doing while he’s there.

    2) if it’s anything like our set-up, men in suits will interview and decide. God knows what their collective agenda/process is like.

    If England look like they’ve made progress I still think it’s pretty much by accident not design.

  31. ClydeMillerWynant says:

    Anyway, time for bed. Will come back looking for the Ghosts of Saturday Night some time soon.

  32. meadesian says:

    Ticht, I think Small Change was the first song of his I heard. It was like listening to someone reading a Raymond Chandler story out loud, in some slummy downtown speakeasy.

  33. killerline says:

    @FD

    you are what you are, we still love you regardless.

  34. tichtheid says:

    I like Scott Johnson, as an Aussie he knows what it is to be in a sport that is about fifth or sixth or lower in your nation’s ranking of importance, equally he is an abrasive bastard who can get the best from a small team, he is an Andy Robinson short of a good coaching team, just the other way around if you know what I mean. We need a forwards coach that, as Chek says, plays to our natural game – rucking.

  35. meadesian says:

    Chek, there’s lots of potential there. More than I can recall at any point in Scotland’s recent history. I think most coaches of note would be seriously interested in working with that squad.

  36. killerline says:

    @Ticht
    Taking Ryan on temporarily did seem an odd move. Are good forwards coaches in short supply?

  37. killerline says:

    Right I’m off to bed.

    Tomorrow I’m going to track down some of these thick-skinned, dead pan, joking All Blacks fans you’ve been talking about.

    All the ones I’ve met are aloof, fragile folk that sulk when I do my Richie McCaw dance.

  38. @ Killer

    That’s more a comment on your terrible dancing than your mocking of Richie Patron Saint of turnovers and not being penalized for egregious offenses right in front of the ref.

  39. meadesian says:

    Don’t forget, mother’s day tomorrow, for those of you that observe the custom.

  40. killerline says:

    @FD

    as usual you’ve discovered the error in my statement.

    Good work.

  41. meadesian says:

    You think you’re doing this Richie McCaw dance Killer, when in fact it s Claw’s Irish spaz-jig. No wonder they sulk when you do it.

  42. @ Killer

    You just have to understand that Kiwis are dance aficionados; they particularly like the merengue, they put cream, berries and kiwi fruit on their heads when they dance it. It is their primary way of distinguishing themselves from us Australians.

  43. I am finally watching the reds rebels. The commentators are all mentioning categories of statistics the reds players are topping is Super rugby without mentioning that Australian sides have played an extra round of rugby, which is quite funny.

  44. avsfan says:

    Tomorrow I’m going to track down some of these thick-skinned, dead pan, joking All Blacks fans you’ve been talking about.

    All the ones I’ve met are aloof, fragile folk that sulk when I do my Richie McCaw dance.

    Fuck you. Come down my way and say that bro, and I’ll fuckin’ smash youse,

  45. avsfan says:

    You just have to understand that Kiwis are dance aficionados; they particularly like the merengue, they put cream, berries and kiwi fruit on their heads when they dance it. It is their primary way of distinguishing themselves from us Australians.

    Yeah, that, and…..and….*tries to think of a smart alec type comeback* and…and….

  46. What is the point of having kurtley Beale comment on his own teammates?

  47. avsfan says:

    What’s Kurtley’s prognosis? Is he going to be ready for the Lions? The Wallabies can’t afford to lose too many more players. Better pray Hooper stays fit. Pocock’s absence won’t be felt quite as keenly as it would have been a couple of years back.

  48. Reports I saw were a month. At 7 we also have gill who is in great form, and smith back of course.

  49. avsfan says:

    Ah, I’d forgotten about Smith. One of my all time favourite Wallabies, if not the favourite.

  50. I played with his brother Tyrone from ages 10-14.

  51. avsfan says:

    Well, that qualifies as a claim to fame.

    Watching the Blues – Bulls at the mo. The first forty has ben like the Blues of old, and I don’t mean that in a good way.

  52. Forgot it was on. Archer season 3 is now on netflix so I was watching that.

  53. Piutau looks a good player, not just thetry, last week too.

  54. Great try for the blues scored by ranger.

  55. Too bad Avs. Still, the blues look better than last year.

Comments are closed.